Molecular Foundry Molecular Foundry

Conference Overview

The Molecular Foundry is a nanoscience research facility that provides visiting researchers ("users") with access to cutting-edge expertise and instrumentation in a collaborative, multidisciplinary environment. The annual User Meeting conference focuses on frontier research topics of interest to that community of users, providing a forum to disseminate results and exchange ideas, and bringing together leading researchers, junior scientists, postdocs, and students.

In addition to on-site users and Molecular Foundry scientists, meeting participants include researchers from universities, national labs, and companies across the USA and internationally. Approximately 300 participants are expected.


August 15-16, 2018
Registration Fees
$195   Standard
$100   Student/Postdoc
Lawrence Berkeley National Lab
Berkeley, California, USA

Confirmed Speakers

Keynote Speakers:
Carolyn R. Bertozzi, Anne T. and Robert M. Bass Professor of Chemistry, Stanford University.
David Awschalom, Liew Family Professor in Molecular Engineering, University of Chicago.

Symposium and Plenary Invited Speakers (confirmed):
Harry Atwater, Caltech
Sarbajit Banerjee, Texas A&M University
Artur Braun, Empa
Judy Cha, Yale University
Maria Chan, Argonne National Laboratory
William Chueh, Stanford University
Alexandra Courtis, UC Berkeley
Daniele Filippetto, Berkeley Lab
Takeshi Fukuma, Kanazawa University
Guillermo Garcia, Heliotrope Technologies, Inc.
Daniel Gianola, University of California, Santa Barbara
Aeron Hammack, EpiBiome, Inc.
Supriya Jaiswal, Astrileux Corporation
Jennifer Hollingsworth, Los Alamos National Laboratory
Jingsong Huang, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Na Ji, UC Berkeley
Mark Kasevich, Stanford University
Roland Koch, Berkeley Lab
Kristie Koski, UC David
David Kuo, Seagate
William Landis, UCSF
Alessandra Lanzara, Berkeley Lab
Xiaoqin (Elaine) Li, University of Texas, Austin
Feng Lin, Virginia Tech
Suljo Linic, University of Michigan
Shalin Mehta, Chan Zuckerberg Biohub
Rajesh Naik, Air Force Research Laboratory
David Pappas, NIST
Yuan Ping, University of California, Santa Cruz
Markus Raschke, University of Colorado
Sujoy Roy, Berkeley Lab
Steve Rozeveld, Dow Chemicals
Richard Saykally, UC Berkeley
Holger Schmidt, University of California, Santa Cruz
Carolin Sutter-Fella, Berkeley Lab
Mitra Taheri, Drexel University
Jinhui Tao, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
Vincent Tung, KAUST
Yang Yang, UCLA
Yang Yu, MIT
Beth Zotter, Cyclotron Road, Berkeley Lab


  • Plenary session on Day 1, with keynote talks from prominent members of the nanoscience community and invited talks from Foundry users.
  • Poster session on Day 1, with drinks and appetizers.
  • Breakout symposia on Day 2, highlighting hot areas in nanoscience. Symposia consist of invited talks and panel discussions. more...
  • Networking with Foundry staff and users, to learn about the latest capabilities the Foundry has to offer.

Organized by the Molecular Foundry User Executive Committee and User Program Office.

About the banner image

register Submit an Abstract

Meeting contact:
Dmitry Soustin

Meeting Sponsors

Thank you to our generous sponsors for their support!